Sumary of DiGiorno Just Launched New Gluten-Free Frozen Pizzas:
- The brand says these new pies are “as delicious as the classic DiGiorno hand-tossed crust pizza, sans gluten.”.
- The crust is made from a gluten-free dough that uses wheat starch as the main ingredient instead of traditional wheat flour..
- Wheat starch is made by processing the wheat grain to remove gluten, a protein that people with celiac disease cannot tolerate..
- products made with wheat starch must contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten, per the Food and Drug Administration..
- So although gluten-free-labeled wheat starch products may contain a very trace amount of gluten, they are generally considered suitable for people who cannot eat gluten.) The product is not wheat-free, though, so it is not safe for people with a wheat allergy..
- It worth mentioning here that if you’ve tried DiGiorno gluten-free pies before and were not particularly impressed, this new crust is a total overhaul of the brand first gluten-free offerings (launched in 2017 and no longer available)..
- Those pizzas had an ultra-thin crust, and the dough was mainly made with rice flour, rice starch, and potato starch….